Wainfleet 24-8-14

The International Lincolnshire Poacher ran at its usual venue of Thorpe St. Peter on Sunday 24 August.

International Solos started with the last chance race which was run twice due to slide -offs from both Ben Fenn-Smith & Matt Saul. Success went to Liverpool based David Radley. In the main event there was some cracking racing. Germany’s Bernd Diener and Britain’s James Shanes won two heats each. Other heat winners were Danny Warwick, Harland Cook, Paul Cooper and Georgie Wood. Shanes went into the final as top scorer and Warwick won the ‘B’ Final. In the Final Diener got the jump and despite Paul Coopers efforts the German took his second Poacher title in three years. Third went to Wood who broke his leg at his only other Poacher outing two years ago. Other finalists, in finishing order, were Shanes, Cook, Mitch Godden, Warwick and Dave Mears.


The Sidecars yet again put on a scintillating show with some very close action at very high speeds. Local boy Colin Blackbourn & passenger Martyn Smith took heat one and Rod Winterburn & Liam Brown look heat two. Both Blackbourn and Winterburn went on to take another heat win a-piece. Defending champions Rob Bradley & Shaun Simpson took three wins, and Rob Wilson & Terry Saunters took the last heat of the afternoon. Having had mechanical gremlins Gareth & Billy Winterburn made the ‘B’ Final and dually won it. In the Final the 2011 winners Wilson & Saunters got an amazing start and led the Final all the way. ‘B’ Final winners Gareth & Billy Winterburn chased hard but just couldn’t get on terms, and third went to Blackbourn & Smith. Battling for fourth & fifth were Bradley & Simpson and Winterburn & Brown which went all the way to the last lap where Bradley & Simpson turned their machine over at high speed.


The Uprights were invited to the event for the first time and again produced some quick action. European Champion Bob Dolman dominated the heats with winning all three with something to spare. The exciting all-action Steve Daw took a couple of heat wins and a slide off in the other whilst leading. The other heat wins went to Richard Andrews, and John Hartley took the B’ Final. Mike Skelding had a spectacular ‘get-off’ when his machine split in half going up the back straight. Dolman ran away with the Final and Andrews took a good second. Third went to Mears who had taking part in both Solos Finals. Other finalists, in finishing order, were Graeme Brown, Lloyd Barrett, Chris Mackett, Arne Anderson and Hartley.


Earlier in the day, the Bahnrekord winners were Bernd Diener and Rob Bradley & Shaun Simpson.


Visit Us On Facebook