Cheshire Report 22-6-14

The 2014 Jim Rowlinson Memorial was run in scorching conditions at the clubs Gawsworth Venue. In the big Sidecars Rod Winterburn was making his return following injury, as was David Radley in the Solos. Radley didn’t make it past the parade, with a blown engine. 2008 British Masters Champion Jason Handley was also making a rare appearance alongside Chester-based Tony Atkin.


The Quads were first to make an appearance and after winning all five legs John Dennan took the win. Second went to Dougie Meek, runner-up in all heats, and third went to Eddie Redfern.


The Motor-cross boys were out next and after winning all five legs Tim Greig took the win. Mark Whitelam took second from James Goodwin who pipped Gareth Winterburn into fourth.


In the 250cc Solo class, 2004 British Champion David Knowles and new to the senior ranks Callum Walker put on a great show of close action racing. Knowles got the nod taking legs one, three and four, with Walker taking two and five. Third went to Tim Greig, ahead of Antony Worrall.


In the Unlimited Solo class, Mike Dowling took a great win, winning four legs. His only loss came in the third leg where Gobowens Phil Rowlands took the win from Mick Norton. Overall second went to John Shipley having taken two seconds, and overall third went to Rowlands.


The up to 500cc Solo class was a brilliant show of what Grasstrack racing is all about by two of the sport’s top riders.  Jason Handley and Tony Atkin did battle in five legs, with Handley taking three wins and two seconds to take an overall win in his first grasstrack meeting in nine months. Atkin, taking a day off from his speedway commitments, took second despite a fall in leg two.  Third went to Plymouth Speedway rider Lee Smart. Fourth overall went to Steve Taylor on count back over Andy Mellish on his 350cc machine.


In the Big Chairs Rod Winterburn & Liam Brown and Rob Bradley & Shaun Simpson won all their heats with room to spare. Gareth Winterburn & Billy Winterburn, who took four seconds, also went straight into the final, with Tris Winterburn & Henry Purcell who had two seconds.  Then from the ‘B’ final they were joined by Gareth Tregilgas & Bobby Morgan and Trevor Heath & Kieron Bonner. Winterburn senior & Brown, who got quicker and quicker all day, got a flyer in the final and could not be caught. Bradley & Simpson, in their first meeting of 2014, took second from Gareth & Billy Winterburn. Fourth went to Tris Winterburn with fifth going to Trevor Heath, his best result thus far on a Right-hander. Tregilgas & Morgan went into the ropes on the final bend.

With the Solos not interested in the ‘Dash for Cash’ the Right-handers took the opportunity to again show off the skills. Rod Winterburn & Liam Brown took another win on a great day for the pair. Second went to GarethBilly Winterburn with third going to Bradley & Simpson, fourth went to Winterburn & Purcell.


There was some great racing on a hot summer’s day in Cheshire’s first meeting of the season. The meeting was topped off with 1976 World Speedway Champion and Honorary Club President Peter Collins doing the presentation.

Visit Us On Facebook