SandAce Report 14-6-14


The 2014 British SandAce Championship took place at usual spectacular venue of Guernsey’s Vazon Beach, and in magnificent weather.

Heat One saw regular visitor to the Island Daniel Winterton take the win from Charley Powell, and Phil Ashcroft another regular visitor. Other finishers were Robert Teed, Fortune and Godden.


Heat Two went the way of defending champion Danny Warwick with Under 21 Champion Josh Dingle second, European finalist Paul Cooper third and David Speight fourth. Other finishers were Cleal and Colin Teed.

Heat Three was a battler of the Islanders with Aaron Pease the only competitor not from the Channel Islands. Marcus Bisson took the win from Jersey based Jamie Griffiths, third went the way of the spectacular Martyn Guilbert, with Pease fourth and fifth went to Anthony Bougourd.

The 1000cc chairs made their first appearance in Heat Four with 2012 Champions Rob Wilson, making his comeback from injury & Terry Saunters taking the win. Peter Lloyd & Daz Whetstone took second from Neal Owen & Jason Farwell. The other finishers were Offen & Owen.


Heat Five went the way of Robbie Wilson & Bradley Steer, with newcomers to the Island Will Penfold & Ricky Pay coming in second, third went to Mick Cave & Gareth Little. The other finishers were Jones & Halle.

Five times winner on the Island Mitch Godden took his only win of the day in Heat Six from David Speight and Scott Cresswell. Other finishers were Mears, Cleal and Colin Teed.


Aussie Ace Rodney McDonald got his first win of the day in Heat Seven, beating Paul Cooper and Jamie Griffiths to the line. Other finishers were Powell, Pease, Fortune, Ashcroft and Cohu.

Looking quicker than ever Danny Warwick doubled up in Heat Eight, beating Daniel Winterton and Rocky Guilbert. The other finisher was Robert Teed.

The Wilson stranglehold continued in Heats Nine & Ten respectively.  Senior took the Nine from Neal Owen & Jason Farwell. The other finishers were Lloyd & Whetstone, Penfold & Pay and Jones & HalleWilson Junior took Ten from Will Offen & Nicky Owen and Mick Cave & Gareth Little.

In Heat Eleven Paul Cooper showed the way in beating Dave Mears, Phil Ashcroft and Islander Robert Teed. The other finisher was Colin Teed.

The big guns and ‘one-two’ from last year met in Race Twelve with defending Champion Warwick getting the nod from McDonald. Previous Champion Mitch Godden got third beating Bisson who was second in the Championship two years ago. Other finishers were Powell, Speight, Guilbert and Pease.


Anthony Bougourd got his only win of the day in Heat Thirteen from Josh Dingle who was on a 350cc machine. Rob Fortune got a third from Simon Sohu. Other finishers were Cleal, Cresswell and Winterton.

In Heat Fourteen Peter Lloyd & Daz Whetstone became the only ‘non-Wilson’ to win a sidecar race all day. They took the win from Penfold & Pay and Owen & Farwell.

Heat Fifteen saw the two unbeaten Wilson’s meet for the first time.  Junior got the gate and led to the tapes from Senior. Offen & Owen took third. Other finishers were Cave & Little and Jones & Halle.

McDonald finished off his heats with another win from Marus Bission in Heat Sixteen. Third went to Mears. Other finishers were Griffiths, Fortune and Cleal.


Danny Warwick finished unbeaten winning Heat Seventeen from Daniel Winterton and Mitch Godden. Other finishers were Pease, Ashcroft, Anderson and C.Teed.

The last Solo Heat of the day went the way of Josh Dingle back on his 500cc machine. Second went to David Speight with Charley Powell third. Other finishers were Guilbert, Robert Teed and Cohu.

Heat Nineteen saw Robbie Wilson & Bradley Steer finish unbeaten, well ahead of the only other chairs to cross the line Lee Jones & Ian Halle

The last Heat went the way of Rob Wilson & Terry Saunters from Neal Owen & Jason Farwell, with Will Penfold & Ricky Pay finishing third, which was enough to see them make their first Right-hand British Final. The other finishers were Cave & Little.

The Solo ‘B’ final went the way of Jamie Griffiths from Dave Mears and Rob Fortune. Other finishers were Ashcroft, Robert Teed and Pease. Both Powell and Guilbert fell, Guilbert with a spectacular slide off on the rocky bend.


The Sidecar Final was another ‘one-two’ from the Wilsons with Robbie & Bradley Steer leading from tape to flag, finishing unbeaten all day to take their first British Championship. Senior & Terry Saunters took second place for the second consecutive season and Peter Lloyd & Daz Whetstone completed the podium. Neal Owen & Jason Farwell took fourth from Will Penfold & Ricky Pay.

The Solos Final was a brilliant race with Danny Warwick and Rodney McDonald, for the second year running, finishing first and second respectively. Daniel Winterton took his first podium on the Island since 2011. Other finishers were Josh Dingle, Mitch Godden, David Speight and Paul Cooper (who fell whilst in second on lap one and remounted).



1- Danny Warwick 10, 10, 10, 10 (40) [A Final 1st]

2- Rodney McDonald R, 10, 8, 10 (28) [A Final 2nd]

3- Daniel Winterton, 10, 8, 2, 8 (28) [A Final 3rd]

4- Josh Dingle 8, 0, 8, 10 (26) [A Final 4th]

5- Mitch Godden 3, 10, 6, 6 (25) [A Final 5th]

6- David Speight 5, 8, 3, 8 (24) [A Final 6th]

7- Paul Cooper 6, 8, 10, R (24) (A Final 7th]

8- Marcus Bisson 10, R, 5, 8 (23) [A Final F]

9- Jamie Griffiths 8, 6, NS, 5 (19) [B Final 1st]

10- Dave Mears R, 5, 8, 6 (19) [B Final 2nd]

11- Rob Fortune 4, 3, 6, 4 (17) [B Final 3rd]

12- Phil Ashcroft 6, 2, 6, 4 (18) [B Final 4th]

13- Robert Teed 5, 5, 5, 4 (19) [B Final 5th]

14- Aaron Pease 5, 4, 1, 5 (15) [B Final 6th]

15- Charley Powell 8, 5, 4, 6 (23) [B Final F]

16- Martyn Guilbert 6, 6, 2, 5 (19) [B Final F]

17- Dave Cleal 4, 4, 4, 3 (15)

18- Anthony Bougourd 4, R, 10, 0 (14)

19- Colin Teed 3, 3, 4, 2 (12)

20- Scott Cresswell R, 6, 3, R (9)

21- Simon Cohu NS, 1, 5, 3 (9)

22- Scott Anderson R, NS, R, 3 (3)

23- Matt Saul R, NS, NS, NS (0)



1- Robbie Wilson & Bradley Steer 6, 6, 6, 6 (24) [Final 1st]

2- Rob Wilson & Terry Saunters 6, 6, 4, 6 (22) [Final 2nd]

3- Peter Lloyd & Daz Whetstone 4, 3, 6, R (13) [Final 3rd]

4- Neal Owen & Jason Farwell 3, 4, 3, 4 (14) [Final 4th]

5- Will Penfold & Ricky Pay 4, 2, 4, 3 (13) [Final 5th]

6- Mick Cave & Gareth Little 3, 3, 2, 2 (10)

7- Will Offen & Nicky Owen 2, 4, 3, R (9)

8- Lee Jones & Ian Halle 2, 1, 1, 4 (8)

Visit Us On Facebook