Wainfleet Report 4-5-14

Wainfleet ran the Robert Chatterton Trophy Challenge and the Junior Poacher at their usual venue of Irby in the Marsh on Sunday.

In the big chairs, the best race of the day was left to the final. Paul Whitelam, who had Kieron Ivy in the chair, had gone in fourth on points and led from the gate from Gareth & Billy Winterburn. Whitelam though left a slight gap on the final turn and Gareth Winterburn ducked inside, took Whitelam wide and crossed the line in first place. Myles Simmons/Kevin Woodley and Colin Blackbourn/Matt Winch battled hard for the final podium spot with Simmons taking it from homester Blackbourn.


The 500cc Solos saw late entry Andrew Whitaker undefeated all day, with three heat wins and the final. John Cox took a superb second from Gareth Hickmott who’d finished second here last year.


There was some great racing in the 350s. Bob Dolman, Andrew Mellish (winner in 2013) and Barry Powell battled all the way, all finishing on forty points after the four heats. Dolman got the win having taken two heat wins and Mellish got second having a faster race winning time than Powell who took third.


Again there was some superb action in the 250 class. The top two was the same as last year with David Knowles taking the win from Ricky Scarboro. Third though went to Zack Wajtknecht in his first adult meeting. Zach had in fact taken a win in the last heat. Other wins came from Scarboro with one Knowles with two.


There was a small entry in the Uprights and again it was decided on points. John Hartley took top spot with Steve Newsham taking second and Mick Norton third.


In the Junior Poacher the Senior A’s saw an all-girl entry with Sophie Flint taking the win from Megan Holtby and Laura Bocking. In the Intermediates Sam Stead was unbeaten, and Adam Bales and Deklan Brown were second and Third respectively. Harry McGurk was unbeaten in the Juniors and Jake Mulford took second having two heat wins from Mickie Simpson who had one. The Cadets saw Sam McGurk winning all his races and in the Autos the finishing order was the same for every race with Luke Harrison coming first from Max Perry second and Liam Cox third.


In the MX classes Sam Stead took four wins in the 85s from Tegan Brown in Second and Bailey Fellows in third. In the 65s George Hopper and Mickie Simpson finished level on points but Hopper took the nod as he had two heat wins to Simpsons one. Third went to Harry McGurk.


There was some great racing from all the new boys, Connor Locke in his first adult meeting in the 350s, Callum Walker in the 250s in only his second adult meeting and Trevor Heath showed his potential in the big chairs follow his switch from solo’s.


Visit Us On Facebook